2 Short Reviews (swrve & green guru gear)

So, Friday I finally was able to commute with two pieces of gear I’ve been waiting try out.

1) Green Guru Gear Cruiser Handlebar Bag (I won this in a contest)
Pros:
-Perfectly sized for what I take to work (wallet, iPhone, kindle, small lunch, few tools)

20110912-085054.jpg
-Fits great on the Tikit
20110912-085158.jpg-Water resistant (this got tested on my way home… I feel totally fine with my stuff in here even in a downpour)
-Comes on and off easily to take to my desk when I get to work.
20110912-085112.jpgCon:
-Because of the way my Tikit is configured, I can’t really open this while it’s mounted. 20110912-091832.jpgNote, this is in no way a fault of GGG. This isn’t a big deal given how easy it is to take on and off.

2) Swrve Cycling Cordura Jeans
Just a note, these were announced just after I returned my Levi’s commuters due to sizing issues. As soon as they opened for pre-order.
Pros:
-Fit: Perfect! I have to say, after my Levi’s experience, I was leery about ordering a pair of jeans without a chance to test fit. However, Swrve is great about listing dimensions on their site. I have to say, the 32×30 regular are dead on perfect for me. Just snug enough to work perfect on the bike without being too snug when off the bike (I’ve never been a skinny jean guy and my legs have always been built).
-Feel: These jeans are cooler than denim has any right to be (and that’s a good thing). I think what the Swrve guys describe as “soft & supple”, I’m experiencing as “cool & smooth”. This material is incredibly comfortable. It has a noticeably nicer hand than any other denim I’ve worn, is highly breathable, and moves easy.
20110912-092016.jpg-Features: These have all of the well known Swvre features. The gusseted crotch and articulated cut work great in the bike. The roll up reflector is a nice touch. I have to say, though, even after seeing it in person, I’m still confused by the offset small rear pocket…
20110912-091924.jpg20110912-091845.jpg20110912-091857.jpg20110912-091909.jpg

20110912-092003.jpg20110912-092033.jpgCons:
-Color selection (or lack thereof): Swrve guys, pleas make these in a color that would pass in the office for slacks / khakis!!! Maybe skip the odd back pocket and the red stitching (which is cool for jeans but would look odd on slacks). I’m presuming Swrve has more products planned for this awesome fabric… Just mentioning what I’d like to see…
-Unlike most of the Swrve stuff, these are not currently Made in the USA (though, as I understand it the fabric is?). As I understand it, though, this has to do with Cordura’s only having authorized certain factories to work with the Cordura Denim. Word has it, Swrve is working on changing this and they made sure the current factory was legit before using them. IMHO, I wouldn’t let this stop anyone from buying these, as the more people that buy them, the stronger Swrve’s position to work with Cordura on Made in the USA production.

20110912-091950.jpg

All-in-all, I’m extremely pleased with both of these excellent products and look forward to many fine commutes.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in commute, gear, tikit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2 Short Reviews (swrve & green guru gear)

  1. Looks like a mobile phone pocket to me… but probably not Droid / iPhone compatible. Very nice looking jeans! Swrve’s stuff is great, thanks for the review.

    • jdmitch says:

      Maybe… It’d have to be a SMALL phone… It not too much bigger than the coin pocket on 5 pocket jeans (the one inside the front right pocket). Holds my key great when I’m out with the wife & kids…

  2. Tina Ingle says:

    So glad you took the time to write up your thoughts! Thanks for sharing. We’re happy your Swrve jeans made with CORDURA(R) Denim fabric fit and feel perfect. You’re right about our specification for fabrics–fabrics are made at authorized mills to ensure quality and durability.
    Tina Ingle
    CORDURA(R) Brand
    Account Manager

  3. JimW says:

    Good to see a review of a Green Guru handlebar bag. Been looking at the Dash Recycled Bike Tube Stem Bag which rides on the stem so you can see a map. Only one review on the web of this model. I’m looking to mount it on my Pocket Rocket or Tikit.

Leave a comment